Hot Pakodis for “The Holiday Buffet”

Standard

One of my friends on FB posted a few days back “is it winter, monsoon, summer ???? Bangalore make up your mind”…how true! The Bangalore weather just can’t seem to make up its mind on “weather” it has to be winter or monsoon or summer….. One day it is nice and sunny, the next minute it pours cats and dogs and then its so chill that you have run indoors for a nice warm fuzzy sweater! For the past two days its been raining off and on, the roads are slushy and all the trees and plants are resplendant with green! Even though i dont like the slush too much I will not complain about the rain…it makes the city looks really pretty, the orange gulmohar flowers are in full bloom and the trees are their greenest best!

Now with the weather being finicky like this, it demands some nice hot chai and even hotter pakodis on a rainy day! And I wanted to very much be a part of Nupur’s event ever since i read about it. Let me tell you about Nupur…she’s this extremely friendly,¬†¬†adventurous, inspiring and punctual blogger whom I have read and followed for years. Her ” A Konkani Sunday” way back in 2005 was the post that inspired me to start my own blog way back then and till today this awesome lady continues to inspire me with her lovely posts!

To participate in Nupur’s event and kickstart my entries (watch out you’re gonna have more from me!) I decided to go with something familiar that I have made multiple times ever since i came across this recipe on Sailu’s blog (another one of my favorite bloggers!). I’ve posted about this before and the post is gone to lala land…:-) But if i can make it several times then i’m sure you guys can read about it once more :-)

No changes to the recipe…just make it as is on Sailu’s blog…The recipe has not failed me and has always inpressed my guests!¬†Enjoy…

Hot Pakodis for a cold, wet day!

And before I leave here, just wanted to share with you guys a picture…

Spicy and Hot Aloo Dum Biryani Sizzler

This was a part of our main course at a restaurant for lunch recently…I have had all kinds of sizzlers, but this was the first time I had a rice sizzler! It was spicy, hot and very tasty! It had big chunks of aloo(Potato) and paneer tikka pieces in it and was generously laced with cheese and butter…not very heart friendly, but for a one off meal, it sure is a treat!

Hope you enjoyed the post! Thanks for stopping by!

4 responses »

  1. Hi Latha! I was so sad when your blog content disappeared but am very thrilled that you decided to come back and play :)

    Thanks for the fantastic entry, and for all your sweet words.

    The sizzler looks amazing too. What restaurant was it? My sis lives in Bangalore and I should ask her to eat one on my behalf.

    • The sizzler Nupur was at a restaurant called “Jalpaan” in Jaynagar in Bangalore…Have your sister give it a try – the place has some good Italian and Indian food!

  2. Latha,

    I have been an avid follower of your blog.
    I am happy to see your postings again.

    Wish you and your family a Happy and Prosperous New Year

Leave a Reply

