Tendli Bhaat and Food for the Soul

Standard

I have been an avid reader of the Sunday Times of India supplement “The Speaking Tree” ever since TOI started publishing it a year or so back. I love the anecdotes, the articles and the soul stirring stories about spirituality the supplement has to offer. A good part of my Sunday is spent in reading and re-reading the paper :-)
This week’s speaking tree had a very interesting story – I’ve heard it before, but with what is going on in my life right now somehow it took on a new meaning and and the story has a totally new perspective…here goes the story – A professor teaching his class, held up a glass with water in it. He asked his students “How much does this weigh?” His students answered “maybe 50 or 100 gms”. The professor said – “I really would not know unless I weight it; but what if I held it the same way for a little longer?” The students said “Nothing would happen”…The professor said “How about if I held it up for an hour?” The students said “Your arm would begin to ache…” And the professor said “What if I held it up for a whole day?” The students replied “ Your arm would go numb and you might end up paralyzed in your hand..” So then the professor said “Great! So tell me in all this – Did the weight of the glass change??” “No” was the answer. The professor asked “So then what caused the muscle ache and paralysis??” and “What should I do to get rid of the pain?” One of the students replied “Put the glass down.”
“Exactly!” said the professor…He said “Life’s problems are something like this glass of water..hold them for a little bit and its ok, hold them for longer then they will begin to hurt you, hold them for very long then they will begin to paralyze. You will then reach a point when you will be unable to do anything about it.” It is important to think about the problems and challenges in our life. But even more important is to learn to put them down at the end of day before we go to sleep. That way we are not stressed and wake up fresh every day strong and ready to be able to handle the day – any issue, any challenge that comes our way..
I have seen from my own life experiences that the divine has a grand plan, we are just little pawns in the whole scheme of things; the wiser thing would be to let things be and live through life happily without worrying about what will happen next…what has to happen will happen, remember that it is all planned!

Ok enough of the heavy stuff for today, let’s get to the lighter side of life..or should I say heavier side really…food…:-P
Digging into my old recipes and pictures, I decided to post on “Tendli Bhaat” which translates into Tindora rice or Gherkins Rice (Kovakkai in Tamil and Tondakaya in Telugu). This is a very Maharashtrian recipe that has worked well for me all these years, it is a light refreshing rice recipe that goes great for lunch, lunch boxes and even when you have those unexpected guests. Served with raita it makes a wholesome meal…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dolly65/2593955022/

You will need:
2 cups Tindora – Washed, and chopped lengthwise
½ cup fresh green peas
1 large onion – Chopped lengthwise
6 green chillies – Slit lengthwise
1 tsp chopped garlic
½ tsp shredded ginger
½ tsp Turmeric powder (Haldi)
1 tsp Red chilli powder
2 tsp Coriander powder (Dhaniya powder)
1 tsp Black Goda masala (Maharashtrian masala)
½ tsp cumin seeds
2 small pieces cinnamon
a few cloves
2 bay leaves
Salt to taste
3 tbsp Oil
2 cups Rice – Washed and Cooked (For basmati I use 1 cup rice: 1 ½ cup water; for regular Sona masoori/raw rice I use 1 cup rice: 2 cups water)

Method:
Cook the rice, cool and spread in a platter.
In a pan, heat the oil, add the cumin seeds and the whole spices (cinnamon, cloves and bay leaves). Add the green chillies and onions and sauté for a few minutes. Then add the chopped tindora, green peas, salt and the dry spice powders. Mix well. Add about a cup of water and cook covered with a lid on a low flame until the tindora is tender. Open the lid and allow all the water to evaporate. Add this mixture to the rice, some more salt if needed and mix gently. Serve hot with raita.

I have not been very good at taking any pictures lately. But one of my new year goals this year is to get this blog (that has been hibernating ) up and running!
More to come. Thanks for stopping by folks…

7 responses »

  1. I love the story and one that is very much needed.
    Your lima beans pulav has become a main stay in our house and I bet this one will too. I do not have tindora but will try this with green beans. Will let you know how it turns out.

  2. Very meaningful story ! I have been reading Speaking Tree as well, it’s interesting and it definitely nourishes my soul which is what I need now.

    Glad to see you posting again, will try the recipe and let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

