Shirdi – The Abode of Sai Baba

Standard

This post had been long overdue. I have been wanting to write a post on Shirdi – one of my favorite places to visit in India. The last time we went to Shirdi I had taken pictures in and around the bustling town so it can be part of my post that I was going to write soon..however that soon is materializing only now, 2 years later ūüôā . The writing and blogging bug seems to me biting me more than ever before now, so heer goes my short story on Shirdi.

I share a very personal and spiritual connection to Sai Baba..like most people do. To me God or Sai Baba is not somewhere out in the universe, somewhere in the distant or somewhere external… but God is here with me, my own conscience, something or someone internal to me and someone I share a informal very personal¬†relationship with, someone I get angry with, upset with, happy with and typically share a deep bond with..So a visit to Shirdi really does not have much significance except for the fact that when i am in the “Mandir” in the presence of Sai Baba’s idol I just consciously spend more time reflecting on my inner self..and I think it is that way for a lot of people. To each his own experience…

But going to these quaint, colorful and bustling cities of India is a passion. India is such a myriad experience of colors, diversity, food and culture…So rooted in tradition and superstitions, so innocent in its beliefs that it intrigues me and sometimes even amuses me..just watching people in their blissful experiences makes me wonder all over about the beauty of creation and life..

With all that said, here are some of the pictures that I took on my visit to Shirdi..

IMG_5863

This beautiful Brass “Urli” with water and flowers sat at the reception of our hotel

IMG_5851

In the local Shirdi market Рa guava vendor selling guavas, when you buy one he would slit in into 6 and smear the insides with a salt and red chilli powder mixture..the guavas were divine!

 IMG_5850

Local sellers selling holy threads and lockets, rings all bearing the picture of Sai Baba..wearing these is a belief of protection and love for Sai baba

 IMG_5834

A view of one side of the Mandir and the people around it

IMG_5832

A vendor selling fresh red roses to be offerred to Sai Baba

IMG_5829

Beautiful, colorful fresh garlands galore for Sai Baba

IMG_5828

Idols of Sai Baba for worship in a local store

IMG_5826

A local store sells various idols, framed images and other Sai baba artifacts

IMG_5819

Roasted, salted peanuts – a great snack!

IMG_5812

Colorful holy thread

 IMG_5822

Flower garlands

 IMG_5825

Sai Baba knick knacks at a local store

 IMG_5882

 And last but not the least РDal vada Рa great tea time snack at the railway station..those were delicious!

Hope you enjoyed the visual delight and pictures from Shirdi…

 

3 responses »

  1. Hi latha,

    I too have not been blogging for a long time. May be I should start soon.Your post on Shirdi is nice. I visited in Feb this year. Yes, God is within each one of us and visiting temples and holy places helps us to connect with the God within.

  2. Sai Ram, Thanks for sharing your experiences. These are the shights for us every week as we operate Shirdi Packages from Bangalore and are there in Shirdi every week. With the blessings of Shree Shirdi Sainath our business is good.

Leave a Reply

