A DIY Project and Mango Dal

Standard

I am so excited about this post..last week I found M Khan of unkhanny.com – a lovely blog with wonderful recipes, some great myths debunked straight from the Dr.’s mouth, lovely beauty facts and tips and some awesome DIY ideas!! I so fell in love with this DIY idea of hers that I had to try it right away!!!

Dal to go...

Dal to go…

I stopped by the store yesterday to pick up some Mason jars and had a fun time putting together this great Dal To Go Gift idea 🙂 I did improvise a bit with the dal recipe itself from M Khan’s recipe… I added in the jar my signature home made Chilli masala powder, some home made cumin powder, amchur and turmeric powder. I toasted the seasoning ingredients as she has suggested and love that all one has to now do it to add the ingredients of the jar in a pressure cooker, add some salt and ghee for good measure 🙂 and cook until soft and of course serve hot!!

Some pictures from my DIY Photoshoot 😉 A handwritten recipe also goes out with each jar…..Huh…whom do I gift it to now?? 🙂

Thank you M Khan for this great idea!!

DSC_0786

DSC_0788

DSC_0799

DSC_0796

DSC_0798

DSC_0795

To continue the Dal Saga I am going to share with you today a Dal recipe from my kitchen..it is a South Indian Dal recipe, more specifically an Andhra dal recipe called “Mamidikaya Pappu” or “Mango Dal”..With the onset of summer raw mangoes in all forms and sizes are now available in the market in India..

The Mango Market and season in full swing Photo Courtesy: thetimesofindia.com

The Mango Market and season in full swing
Photo Courtesy: thetimesofindia.com

Yummy Mangoes Photo Courtesy: Internet

Yummy Mangoes
Photo Courtesy: Internet

I miss the vibrant markets of India, the abundance of vegetables and fruits and the hot summers.. But I am not one to fret over it 🙂 I do enjoy my local groceries and whole foods market here in the US. I was lucky to find some raw mangoes in our Indian store here in the US..

Green Raw Mango

Green Raw Mango

I saved one of these babies to make my mom’s signature Mango Thokku. The other I used up for the Mango Dal below…

You will need:

Ingredients for Mango Dal

Ingredients for Mango Dal

1 Cup Toor Dal
3/4th Raw Mango – Peel and cube, discard the large seed
1 Large tomato – Chop roughly
5 Green chillies – Slit lengthwise
2 cloves Garlic – Peel
1/4 Onion – Chop
Turmeric Powder

Combine all of the above in a pressure pan or pressure cooker. Add about 3 cups of water and pressure cook for 3 whistles. Allow the pressure from the cooker to cool.
Open the lids, Use a large ladle, masher or a hand blender to slightly mash the dal. If the dal is too thick you may add about 1/2 cup water. Add salt to taste and boil uncovered for 5 minutes.

Delicious Mango Dal

Delicious Mango Dal

Season with mustard seeds, cumin seeds, urad dal, curry leaves, dry red chillies, some chopped garlic and some hing.You may also add chopped onions for seasoning.

Serve Mango Dal with Hot Rice, Papad and Pickle...

Serve Mango Dal with Hot Rice, Papad and Pickle…

DSC_0781
Serve hot with rice, papad and pickle..or just plain with hot steaming rice 🙂
Hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by…

Leave a Reply

